ULS Sustainable Products Program Advisory Board

Scott D. Noesen
President & CEO,
WorldView Consulting, LLC

Soctt Noesen Dr. Rita Schenck
Executive Director,
Institute for Environmental Research
and Education (IERE)
Rita Schenck
Scott is President & CEO of WorldView Consulting, a firm that helps businesses and non-profit institutions integrate sustainable thinking and processes into all phases of their activities. He was recently awarded the Order of Outstanding Contributor by the World Business Council for Sustainable Development. Scott is an Advisory Board member at schools that include the University of Michigan, Ohio State, and the University of North Carolina. He is also a Guest Lecturer for the Prince of Wales Business & the Environment executive education program at Cambridge University. Rita holds a doctorate in oceanography (concentrating on ecotoxicology and biogeochemistry) and has many years experience in industry managing environmental programs. She represents the U.S. in negotiating life cycle standards under the ISO 14000 standards (Environmental Management Systems). Rita is also a consultant to the U.S. EPA Science Advisory Board, has been working to develop the Agricultural EMS Program, and is doing research on Biodiversity/Land Use indicators.
R. A. (Tony) Kingsbury
Executive in Resident,
Center for Responsible Business,
Haas School of Business,
University of California, Berkeley
Tony Kingsbury

Dr. William J. Rathje


Dr. William Rathje
Tony joined the Center in September 2007 to launch a new interdisciplinary program at UC Berkeley on sustainable products and innovations. He is a recognized expert in global sustainability, environmentally preferred purchasing, plastics and chemical environmental issues and public policy. Tony is known for using his wide ranging knowledge of the whole supply chain -- from raw material extraction, to manufacturing, to final use and disposal -- to distill complex messages into understandable language. Prof. William L. Rathje was the Founder and Director of The Garbage Project, which conducts archaeological studies of modern refuse. Rathje published widely in academic journals and in such popular media as National Geographic, The Atlantic Monthly, and The Smithsonian. In 1991 Dr. Rathje won the AAAS/Westinghouse Award for Public Understanding of Science and Technology and in 1992 the AAA Solon T. Kimball Award for Public and Applied Anthropology.
June Anderson
M.S., CPP, Partner
Packaging Knowledge Group LLC
June Anderson Steve Mojo
Executive Director,
Biodegradable Products Institute
June has over 25 years of experience as a packaging engineer and manager. She has served in various positions on the Institute of Packaging Professionals (IoPP) National Board of Directors, including President and Chairman. She is also an instructor and adjunct faculty member at the Michigan State University School of Packaging, and has been inducted into the MSU Packaging Hall of Fame. Steve and the BPI have been instrumental in obtaining harmonized compostability and biodegradability standards across North America, Europe and Asia. He has been active in the field of biodegradable plastics for over 15 years, has served on the Board of Directors of the US Composting Council, and has significant experience in the development of environmental certification programs.